The Esseillon fortifications

Natural rock barrier, the Esseillon glacial lock was used for the establishment of fortresses whose purpose was to protect the country from the enemy. This military square was not the place of fighting but it is nevertheless steeped in history and is classified “Historical Monuments”.

At the time

Neither French nor Italian

it was before the attachment of Savoy to France

Austere and imposing

The forts of the Esseillon were built between 1815 and 1830 at the time of the Kingdom of Piedmont-Sardinia according to the plans of the Marquis de Montalembert.

The glacial lock of the Esseillon (scale in Piedmontese) lent itself quite to the design thought by the architect who advocated a mutual defense of each fort by crossfire.

These buildings bear the names of the sovereigns of the royal family: Victor Emmanuel and Marie-Thérèse, Charles-Félix and Marie-Christine, Charles-Albert.

The story explained to all

Always undergoing restoration, the forts are visited (free or accompanied visits). As a family, children can put themselves in the shoes of a soldier and follow the treasure hunt in Fort Victor Emmanuel.

La Redoute Marie-Thérèse houses the Fortified Heritage Interpretation Center and Fort Marie-Christine offers quality accommodation and food.

To discover

Around the forts